Better Strategy is About Making a Choice

Here are two great insights from a Roger Martin interview that Russell Davies pulled out:

“The problem with a lot of strategies is that they are full of non-choices. Probably most of us have read more than a few so-called strategies that say something like, “Our strategy is to be customer centric.” But is that really a choice?”

I want to marinate on that. Like olive oil, lemon and a pinch of cayenne. When I feebly taught strategy at Miami Ad School I taught the principles of perceptual mapping. A pair of students came back with a map for women’s shoes. One side was comfortable the other side was uncomfortable. And I realized I had failed them. It is not about having opposites. It is about the variables being positive, and then making a choice between the two.

One more.

“I would argue that 90 percent of the strategic plans I’ve seen in my life are really more accurately described as budgets with prose.”

That is lovely, true and terribly sad.

Better Strategy is About Making a Choice

Leave a Reply

